Getting Out There: Spring Term, and Springing into Action

Spring term has officially begun!

I apologise for the pun in my title but I couldn’t help it.

With the (finally) warmer weather, we Warriors find ourselves in many different situations.  Perhaps you are transitioning back into studying (that’s me!).  Perhaps you are embarking on a brand new journey with a co-op position.  Or maybe you have found yourself returning home to take a well deserved break from your of hard work, personal growth, desperately trying to squeeze in just one more episode of your favourite series (hey, binge watching shows in between assignments can take a lot out of you!).

Wherever you find yourself this term, the season provides a perfect opportunity to embrace the spirit of growth and take steps toward a healthier, happier you.  If you’re anything like me, first year may have proven to be a bit less of a journey of self improvement, and more of a journey of getting through your classes. But that doesn’t mean all is lost!

Take advantage of the sunshine and get out into your surroundings. Try things you’ve never tried, but have always had an interest in. Turn on your favourite pump-up song and kick-start that fitness goal you have been considering.  Explore ways to spend your time that leave you with feelings of satisfaction rather than feeling like you should have been doing something else.

Set personal goals, but always remember to forgive yourself if you get off track. The fact that you are putting in effort is a beautiful and admirable thing. So take each day as a new opportunity and a fresh start, get out there, and see what the next four months can bring.

Along the way, I will be doing the same.  I will be making posts about my own adventures in Waterloo, as I explore the city and document my experiences. I would love for you to read along, and I invite you to reflect, (or perhaps leave a comment!) sharing your own story as you spring into action this term!

Take care, and take time for yourself.

Get yourself out there, and see what lies ahead in the wide open expanse of opportunities.

Leave a comment